Board of Directors

Sampo plc's Board of Directors, elected annually by the AGM of Sampo plc, uses the highest decision making power in Sampo Group between the AGMs. Sampo's Board of Directors is responsible for the management of the company in compliance with the law, the regulations of the authorities, Sampo's Articles of Association and the decisions of Shareholders Meetings.

The following persons served on Sampo plc's Board of Directors in 2013:



Björn Wahlroos Chairman of the Board Born 1952

Positions of Trust

Nordea Bank AB (publ), Chairman of the Board; UPM-Kymmene Corporation, Chairman of the Board; Finnish Business and Policy Forum EVA, Board Member; The Research Institute of the Finnish Economy ETLA, Board Member; Hanken School of Economics, Chairman of the Board; The Mannerheim Foundation, Board Member

- Wahlroos was appointed to the Board of Directors of Sampo plc on 5 April 2001.
- Wahlroos holds 11,863,141 Sampo plc shares directly or through a controlled company.



Matti Vuoria

Vice Chairman of the Board; CEO, President of Varma Mutual Pension Insurance Company (2004–2013) Born 1951

Positions of Trust

Wärtsilä Corporation, *Vice Chairman of the Board*; Stora Enso Oyj, *Board Member*; Securities Market Association, *Chairman of the Association's Board*; The Finnish Pension Alliance TELA, *Vice Chairman of the Board (2011–2013)*; Federation of Finnish Financial Services, *Board Member (2007–2013)*

- Member of the Board of Directors of Sampo plc since 7 April 2004.
- Vuoria holds 35,804 Sampo plc shares directly or through a controlled company.



Anne Brunila
Professor of Practice, Hanken School of Economics
Rorn 1957

Positions of Trust

Kone Corporation, Board Member;
Sanoma Corporation, Board Member;
Stora Enso, Board Member;
The Research Institute of the Finnish Economy ETLA, Board Member;
Finnish Business and Policy Forum EVA, Board Member;
International Chamber of Commerce Finland, Chairman of the Board;
Aalto University Foundation, Vice Chairman

- Member of the Board of Directors of Sampo plc since 9 April 2003.
- Brunila holds 9,059 Sampo plc shares directly or through a controlled company.



Jannica Fagerholm Managing Director, Signe and Ane Gyllenberg Foundation Born 1961

Positions of Trust

Teleste Corporation, Board Member;

Aktia plc and Aktia Bank, Board Member and Member of the Audit Committee (2012-2013);

Kelonia (Private Equity holding company), Board Member;

Veritas Pension Company, Member of the Supervisory Board;

Hanken School of Economics, Board Member and Chairman of the Investment Committee;

 $Swedish\ Society\ of\ Literature\ (Svenska\ litteraturs\"{a}llskapet\ i\ Finland),\ \textit{Member\ of\ the\ Investment\ Committee}$

- Member of the Board of Directors of Sampo plc since 18 April 2013.
- Fagerholm holds 679 Sampo plc shares directly or through a controlled company.



Adine Grate Axén CEO of Adine Grate AB Born 1961

Positions of Trust

NASDAQ OMX, Sweden, Chairman of the Swedish Listing Committee;

 ${\bf Swedish\ Orphan\ Biovitrum\ AB\ (Sobi)}, {\it Board\ Member\ and\ Member\ of\ the\ Audit\ Committee};$

Swedavia AB, Board Member;

3 Scandinavia, Advisor and Executive Board Member;

AP 7, Vice Chairman of the Board;

Madrague Capital Partners AB, Board Member;

Alhanko & Johnson AB (BASE 23), Board Member;

BSkyB (British Sky Broadcasting Group plc), Board Member and Member of the Audit Committee

- Member of the Board of Directors of Sampo plc since 14 April 2011.
- Grate Axén holds 3,061 Sampo plc shares directly or through a controlled company.



Veli-Matti Mattila
President and CEO of Elisa Corporation
Born 1961

Positions of Trust

The Finnish Fair Association, Member of the Supervisory Board;
Confederation of Finnish Industries EK, Member of the Representative Assembly;
Service Sector Employers PALTA, Board Member;
Finnish Foundation for Technology Promotion, Board Member

- Member of the Board of Directors of Sampo plc since 7 April 2009.
- Mattila holds 3,796 Sampo plc shares directly or through a controlled company.



Eira Palin-Lehtinen Born 1950

Positions of Trust

Elisa Corporation. Board Member:

Sigrid Juselius Foundation, Deputy Board Member and Member of the Finance Committee;

Nordea Funds (Nordea Alternative Investment, Nordea Funds of Funds, Nordea I Sicav), Luxembourg, Board Member;

Föreningen Konstsamfundet, Member of the Investment Committee;

The Finnish Foundation for Share Promotion (Pörssisäätiö), Chairman of the {\it Board;}

Sibelius Academy Foundation, Board Member

- Member of the Board of Directors of Sampo plc since 15 April 2008.
- Palin-Lehtinen holds 3,479 Sampo plc shares directly or through a controlled company.



Per Arthur Sørlie President & CEO, Borregaard Born 1957

Positions of Trust

Umkomaas Lignin (Pty) Ltd,South Africa, *Chairman of the Board;* Inspiria Science Center, Norway, *Board Member*

- Member of the Board of Directors of Sampo plc since 12 April 2012.
- Sørlie holds 1,690 Sampo plc shares directly or through a controlled company.

Jukka Pekkarinen, born 1947Member of the Board of Directors of Sampo plc from 5

April 2006 to 18 April 2013.



Christoffer Taxell, born 1948

Member of the Board of Directors of Sampo plc from 1 January 1998 to 18 April 2013.

When elected, all Board members were independent of company's major shareholders and following members were also independent of the company:

Anne Brunila, Jannica Fagerholm, Adine Grate Axén, Veli-Matti Mattila, Eira Palin-Lehtinen, Per Arthur Sørlie and Björn Wahlroos.

Information as of 31 December 2013, unless stated otherwise. The CVs of members of the Board of Directors can be viewed at www.sampo.com/board.